Monday, November 20, 2006

A day off, a vacation, a letter to a lost friend

My husband is taking the kids to the city tomorrow - I will have 24 hours to myself. Mostly I'll be working, but it will be lovely to come home at whatever hour, drink a glass of wine and eat dinner, listen to the radio, watch TV, sleep and wake, with nobody to talk to me, touch me, ask me for anything. I'll have to go to sleep early to pop out of bed early to be out the door early to meet them at the airport - Wednesday before Thanksgiving at LaGuardia - lovely. A weekend in Ohio - lovely. A weekend at a nice hotel, no dishes to do, with a pool, truly lovely, no sarcasm intended.

Meanwhile this is what I want to write to HIM: Dear M: I need to know. Are you not getting my emails, or just choosing not to answer them? I have sent four in the last two months - none of which you've answered. If you've decided not to be in communication with me anymore, just say that much, and I will leave you alone. Of course I'd want to know why, but an explanation is not required - I can imagine enough reasons. But if you still consider me a friend, someone you care about, then I need for you to answer my emails, if only with a single sentence - "Hi J--, I'm really busy these days but it's nice to hear from you" would be a lot better than total silence. If you can't do this, for whatever reason, then I will stop corresponding with you - it's too painful to send a letter out into the air and not get anything back. It takes a little bite out of my soul every time.

If on the other hand you are just not receiving them - if you didn't get my birthday greeting, and my "wave across the ocean" and my good wishes for your concert - then perhaps I must find a new way of communicating. I hear passenger pigeons might be making a comeback.

Yours, J ---

I suppose this looks absurd -- anyone reading it would say, this is so clear, just stop writing, forget about him. But they have no idea what I had, what I lost, what it meant to me. It's hard to stop - they don't make rehab hospitals for what I'm addicted to.

Sunday, November 19, 2006

What I wrote today

I hate you

What else can I say? I sent you a birthday greeting on Friday. You read it on Saturday. Now it's Sunday - afternoon, evening there - I know you are celebrating your birthday, probably with HER, probably sleeping with her, but how hard is it to take a moment to say " thank you." How hard? A month ago, and a month before that, when I wrote you thoughtful notes, why couldn't you respond? What are you telling me? Shut up? I don't care? I don't have time for you? Whatever it is, by telling me this way instead of directly, it makes me hate your lazy, passive/agressive, selfish ass. Because it's your birthday I've been thinking more about you lately - and because this time last year, Thanksgiving, was in so many ways the beginning of the end. It was when I obsessively looked for you online and via email the entire time I was gone. It was when you went away with her and left me alone. It was when I realized that, even with a trip to see you planned, the fun was over. Maybe once these milestones pass, I can move on a little. I hope so. Are you trying to make that easier for me? If so, thank you, but I still hate you.

Yes, I wrote that, but I feel like I need to say more. Or say it again, over and over and over. I loved you with an intensity, a crazy unrestrained passion, divorced from all reality. I was completely obsessed, I stalked you, I thought about you every minute. When I had sex with my husband, I thought aobut you. While I was driving my kids to school, I thought about you. When I was staring at my computer at work, I thought about you. I waited for you to email or IM me - I lived for those moments, was high for days afterwards. That was a year ago. What is left, now? What do I feel, now? I'm better, healing, focusing on other things. But on days like this, god I still miss you so much and I'm so angry/sad/resentful/regretful that you do not think of me.

Friday, November 17, 2006

sex would be nice

So I keep dreaming about having sex with my husband - that's good, right? Last night it was about as graphic as it gets -I was woken by the alarm clock in the middle of a porn movie. But I haven't wanted to when we're awake, not that he's been available at all - working late every night (at home -he's not out having an affair, or if he is he's VERY clever about it).

The man I'm in love with, the one who lives very far away and hasn't written me for months - oh, that's a healthy situation - doesn't crop up in the dreams quite as often these days. Maybe I'm gettinig over him. Maybe I'm not. Today I'm so tired, never washed my face this morning let along put on makeup, wearing a schlumpy sweater that makes me feel as if I still weigh 222 pounds - and let's be very clear, I DON'T - oh, it's not a good day today. I should just leave now - why sit at this desk for another hour when I am bound to get nothing done?